EXPLORATION

Discovering marine biodiversity and understanding the challenges of protecting the oceans is an important objective for Andromède Océanologie. Highlighting the marine biodiversity of a site, an atoll, a country, is a skill that we have patiently developed. The results are available in books, documentaries and conferences for the general public to enhance the natural heritage of the territories.

Andromède Océanologie is developing its own expedition projects with the “Gombessa” series, which aims to magnify marine life, mainly in the twilight zone beyond 100 m deep.

The Gombessa missions are chosen on the basis of their naturalistic interest and developed around three axes:

  • a scientific mystery, which forms the basis of the expedition;
  • a scuba diving challenge requiring deep, committed, often extreme dives;
  • a promise unique and unprecedented images of marine species and/or natural behavior

To date, five expeditions have been carried out:

  • Gombessa 1, The cœlacanth, a dive toward our origins: Laurent Ballesta and his team are leading an expedition to South Africa to dive with the cœlacanth and carry out the first scientific protocols on the mythical “living fossil” living beyond 120 m deep.
  • Gombessa 2, The grouper mystery: The team is interested in a unique aggregation of Pacific camouflage groupers in Fakarava Atoll and illustrates the key role that their reproduction plays in the balance of the lagoon ecosystem.
  • Gombessa 3, Antarctica: naturalist photographers Laurent Ballesta and Vincent Munier travel to Antarctica for a pioneering mission that combines exploration, diving and photography. The expedition is part of a larger project launched by director Luc Jacquet (rewarded with an Oscar for best documentary in 2006 for The march of the Penguins), aimed at measuring the consequences of global warming in this polar region.
  • Gombessa 4, 700 sharks into the dark: Back to Fakarava … but for breathtaking night dives in the midst of a horde of grey sharks. A chaotic buffet where sharks actually hunt in a well-organized pack.
  • Gombessa 5, Planet Mediterranean: in 2019, in line with the houses under the Cousteau Sea, Laurent and three divers from the Gombessa team live at saturation for 28 days in a bathyal station pressurized at 11 times the atmospheric pressure. Divers explore the great depths of the French Mediterranean, from Marseille to Monaco, and decompression only takes place at the end of the mission.

Each expedition has been the subject of productions, notably for the ARTE channel and National Geographic. “700 Sharks into the dark” has received more than 70 international awards and was nominated for the Emmy Awards

Suivez nous sur Instagram

Sélectionner une page

EXPLORATION

Faire découvrir la biodiversité marine et comprendre les enjeux de la protection des océans est un objectif important pour Andromède Océanologie. Mettre en lumière la biodiversité marine d’un site, d’un atoll, d’un pays, est une compétence que nous avons patiemment développée. Les résultats se déclinent en livres, documentaires et conférences pour le grand public pour mettre en valeur le patrimoine naturel des territoires.

Andromède Océanologie développe ses propres projets d’expéditions avec la Série « Gombessa » qui vise à magnifier la vie marine, principalement dans la zone crépusculaire située au-delà de 100m de profondeur.

Les missions Gombessa sont choisies sur la base de leur intérêt naturaliste et se développent autour de trois axes :

  • une énigme scientifique, qui constitue la base de l’expédition ;
  • un défi de plongée sous-marine nécessitant des plongées profondes, engagées, souvent extrêmes ;
  • une promesse d’images inédites

A ce jour 5 expéditions ont été réalisées :

  • Gombessa I, plongée vers nos origines : Laurent Ballesta et son équipe mènent une expédition en Afrique du Sud pour plonger avec le cœlacanthe et effectuer les premiers protocoles scientifiques sur le mythique « fossile vivant » vivant à plus de 120 m de profondeur.
  • Gombessa II, le mystère mérou : L’équipe s’intéresse à une agrégation unique de mérous camouflage du Pacifique dans l’atoll de Fakarava et illustre le rôle clé que joue leur reproduction dans l’équilibre de l’écosystème du lagon.
  • Gombessa III, Mission Antarctica : les photographes naturalistes Laurent Ballesta et Vincent Munier se rendent en Antarctique pour une mission pionnière qui associe exploration, plongée et photographie. L’expédition fait partie d’un projet plus large lancé par le réalisateur Luc Jacquet (qui a remporté l’Oscar du meilleur documentaire en 2006 pour La Marche de l’empereur), visant à mesurer les conséquences du réchauffement climatique dans cette région polaire.
  • Gombessa IV, 700 requins dans la nuit : Retour à Fakarava… mais pour des plongées de nuit à couper le souffle au milieu d’une horde de requins gris. Buffet chaotique où règne le chacun pour soi ou chasse en meute bien organisée ?
  • Gombessa V, Planète Méditerranée : en 2019, dans la lignée des maisons sous la mer de Cousteau, Laurent et 3 plongeurs de l’équipe Gombessa vivent à saturation durant 28 jours dans une station bathyale pressurisée à 11 fois la pression atmosphérique. Les plongeurs explorent sans contrainte de paliers de décompression les grandes profondeurs de Marseille à Monaco.

Chaque expédition a fait l’objet de productions inédites, notamment pour la chaîne ARTE et National Geographic. « 700 requins dans la nuit » a reçu plus de 70 prix internationaux et a été sélectionné aux Emmy Awards.

Suivez nous sur Instagram