ECOLOGICAL COMPENSATION

ERC sequence and compensatory measures

The law for the recovery of biodiversity, nature and landscapes of August 8, 2016 strengthens the obligation to compensate for the residual impacts of a project and sets a new framework: the sequence “Avoid – Reduce – Compensate”.

The ERC sequence carries a hierarchical principle. The first is to avoid the impacts of a development project as much as possible, then to reduce them and finally to compensate for them.

Current ecological equivalence calculations still raise scientific and technical questions as to the concepts and knowledge to be mobilized and the evaluation methods to be developed and implemented. This field is all the more experimental in the marine field where no method is really validated.

Despite its limits, the calculation of ecological equivalence is an opportunity to share a rational view of compensation measures by integrating quantified data on the area and ecosystem services rendered by habitats.

Andromède Océanologie offers a simple and operational calculation derived from the American method UMAM (Uniform Mitigation Assessment Method, Florida administrative code) as well as a complete panel of measures adapted to shipyards.

Suivez nous sur Instagram

Sélectionner une page

COMPENSATION ECOLOGIQUE

Séquence ERC et mesures compensatoires

La loi pour la reconquête de la biodiversité, de la nature et des paysages du 8 août 2016 renforce l’obligation de compenser les impacts résiduels d’un projet et fixe un cadre nouveau : la séquence « Eviter – Réduire – Compenser ».

La séquence ERC porte un principe hiérarchique. Il s’agit d’abord d’éviter au maximum les impacts d’un projet d’aménagement, puis de les réduire et enfin de les compenser.

Les calculs d’équivalence écologique actuels suscitent encore des questions scientifiques et techniques quant aux concepts et connaissances à mobiliser et aux méthodes d’évaluation à développer et mettre en œuvre. Ce domaine est d’autant plus expérimental dans le domaine marin où aucune méthode n’est réellement validée.

Malgré ses limites, le calcul d’équivalence écologique est une opportunité qui permet de partager un regard rationnel sur les mesures de compensation en intégrant des données chiffrées de surface et de services écosystémiques rendus par les habitats.

Andromède Océanologie propose un calcul simple et opérationnel dérivé de la méthode américaine UMAM (Uniform Mitigation Assesment Method, Florida administrative code) ainsi qu’un panel complet de mesures adaptés aux chantiers maritimes.

Suivez nous sur Instagram